1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

GCSE music vs BTEC music

Discussion in 'Music' started by ciaramcnamara1912, Feb 4, 2020.

1. ciaramcnamara1912

ciaramcnamara1912 New commenter

Hi all,

Looking for some sound, honest advice. Apologies for the long post (disclaimer- 1st time poster).

I have been a qualified RS and Music teacher for 7 years and love teaching, but I'm new to teaching music as of September 2019. As much as I am enjoying it in some regards, I am really struggling too. My school runs BTEC courses for creative arts- having never taught BTEC, let alone Muisc BTEC, I was thrown in at the deep end. So far, I have felt like I am teahcing business studies or logistics with a few musical elements thrown in. I want to know if BTEC really is the better route musically speaking and qualification wise? I have spoken to other music teachers from my previous schools and they have said they would always choose GCSE over BTEC- would ye agree? I myself, went to school in Ireland where BTEC is not a thing, so, did what I assume was more akin to GCSE. My university course was more akin to this also- music history, analysis, performance, composition etc. So, my question is, which is the best route to go and why?