1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

GCSE Maths - Question from a concerned parent.

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by Manyjobs, Jul 17, 2011.

1. What would you do?

I am a teacher, but I am writing this as a parent.
    My child has just started GCSE Maths and recently did a ‘mock’ exam. The grade she obtained was not as high as expected (B rather than A) and the teacher said “You didn’t revise did you?” Not wanting to stupid, by only getting a B even though she revised hard, she agreed that she hadn’t revised. In reality she had done a lot of revision – evenings and weekends.
    My problem is this: do I inform the teacher that she did revise? My child is adamant that I shouldn’t but I feel uneasy leaving the situation as it is. The teacher must think she’s a slacker and capable of more. I want him to know she tries really hard and may need some extra support.
    She finds him a bit intimidating and I think that’s why she agreed with his leading question but surely he needs to know if she’s working hard and still not getting the grades he expects of her. (The teacher seems to think she’s a A* student – I’m worried that his expectations may be too high).
    Should I let it slide this time and see what happens next time? Should I go against my child’s wishes and speak to the teacher this time? Should I just book a private Maths tutor to make sure she gets that A* no matter how much revision time she puts in?

Advice would be appreciated.

2. What would you do?

I am a teacher, but I am writing this as a parent.