1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

GCSE English - priorities?

Discussion in 'Private tutors' started by CathySupply, Jan 16, 2011.

1. CathySupply

CathySupply New commenter

Hi, I'm hoping that someone with more experience can help me with this - I'd be very grateful for any thoughts at all! I'm a primary teacher (27 years' experience) and have recently started giving private tuition in English and Maths (KS 1 and 2). Because my first degree is in English I decided to take on students up to GCSE for English.
    My concern is that I have a student who began lessons with me the week before he took his November English Language paper. He got the expected E as we heard last week. He will be retaking it in June and his parents are relying on me to get him up to a C. I have told them I can't guarantee anything without the boy's co-operation. He lacks confidence and application but more importantly there are huge, howling gaps in his basic grasp of English! The parents (and their son) are nice people and I don't think they expect miracles, but I really don't want to let any of them down. My dilemma is: how far do I dedicate the lessons (three hours a week) to basic spelling, grammar and so on, and how far do I go top-down from past papers? My instinct is to try a balance of both. His father wants me to do past papers under exam conditions but is this a good use of my rather expensive time? I really want to do my best here but am not the most confident person in the world.

2. Lesson 1: Spelling & Grammar
    Lesson 2: Style of writing & Sentence structure