1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

GCSE Composition- Guitar pro/garageband. Edexcel

Discussion in 'Music' started by musicismyreligion, Feb 1, 2011.

1. musicismyreligion

musicismyreligion New commenter

Hi there.
    I have two pupils who want to use their own software for compositions. I am aware of the ten hours guided coursework component and the pupils are bringing in their own laptops.
    I have no experience with guitar pro, but will it create a score that can be submitted for assessment? I am assuming with the right recording and statement of intention it will be okay.
    My second question is with garageband. I have a high ability candidate, who is reaching for A/A* and likes using garageband. I know garageband only creates individual lines and not a whole score. Has anyone experience of submitting GCSE coursework with garageband? How should I advise the pupil in question? Will he still be able to reach the upper mark boundaries composing in this way?

Thanks a million for reading.

2. musicismyreligion

Hi there.
    I have two pupils who want to use their own software for compositions. I am aware of the ten hours guided coursework component and the pupils are bringing in their own laptops.
    I have no experience with guitar pro, but will it create a score that can be submitted for assessment? I am assuming with the right recording and statement of intention it will be okay.