1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

GCSE AQA English marking guidelines - no help being given

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by Woollybear, Apr 9, 2012.

1. Hello.
    I'm a newbie and I've joined this forum specifically to ask this question. I don't know if I am asking it in the right place, perhaps the moderators could move it, if not, or some kind soul could point me to where it should be posted for maximum effect.
    My wife, - let's call her Ermintrude - has been saddled with teaching GCSE English (not language or literature, just English) to the AQA exam board standard, in one year (not the normal two, as I understand it) to adult learners. I am not saying anything else about her or where she teaches, other than she started doing it last September, she is not thick, far from it, she was - until this tsunami of garbage hit her - doing a distance learning masters in teaching literacy skills while also teaching literacy. Obviously, she's already a qualified teacher etc.
    All that extra study, in fact all the fun in her life stopped over the last three or four months as gradually GCSE has taken over more and more of her life. We were going to go away this Easter, she's spent most of it tearing her hair out with frustration at AQA (this is why I don't want to give any details about her, as I am sure AQA read these forums!)