1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Gay Teacher Overseas

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by jaymiej, Aug 1, 2017.

1. jaymiej

jaymiej New commenter

I am an experience primary teacher with international experience in Spain and Netherlands. I am also a married lesbian. My wife and I enjoy traveling and I like international teaching obviously our options are limited as we don't wish to face death or prison when we move but I was wondering if anyone had experience of being a gay teacher outside of Europe - which places were safe and obviously any which seemed safe but were not! I know we will never be able to do Qatar or Dubai etc but I'm hopeful to spread our wings a little further!

2. dumbbells66

dumbbells66 Established commenter

I think you will find that your choices are not that limited. I have worked with loads of gay people on 3 continents. There are plenty of countries in Asia where you wont have any issues at all, and i have gay friends all over the world. Your life is not as restricted as you were thinking, in my opinion. Just get out there and apply.

Helen-Back likes this.
  3. jaymiej

jaymiej New commenter

Which parts of Asia in particular? My concern would not be so great if I were single but as a woman married to a woman I wouldn't be able to 'hide' my status nor would my wife and my concern would be if our safety would be in jeopardy?

4. dumbbells66

I was in Laos, but know of gay couples in pretty much every other country, including indonesia. Just apply and be up front about it, if its an issue for the school they will soon let you know.

Good luck

5. SecondPlace

SecondPlace Occasional commenter