1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Gas and Electricity

Discussion in 'Personal' started by enigma23, May 26, 2019.

1. enigma23

enigma23 New commenter

Hi,

Our dual fuel deal comes to an end soon and we need to switch.

I have looked deeply into comparison sites, Martin Lewis, cashback etc but most of the switches suggested to me based on my current consumption rate say ‘signing up to this is accepting that you will also have a smart meter installed’.

Now I’m not an expert on these and I know that some people love em and some people hate em. The rates offered to me are quite good so would like to switch to them if I can but not sure about the smart meter idea.

Any suggestions either way?

Thanx

2. dumpty

dumpty Star commenter

I think - I am not sure though - it takes quite a few hours to get the thing installed (and you must be home) and then the real annoyance is they cannot guarantee the meter won't need to be changed again should you get a better deal elsewhere.

So it will be a bit of a hassle to change suppliers down the line and I'd be very worried these good deal suppliers right now will get much more expensive later, on the basis you won't be bothered to go through it all again.

If such things do not bother you then could be worthwhile playing them at their own game and when they up the price, change and get a new meter - as wasteful as it all is.

My fear with the meters is I presume (again, do not know for certain) that once you have one installed that's it - no going back to analogue/basic meters.

3. mothorchid

mothorchid Star commenter