1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Gaining QTS with Australian qualifications.

Discussion in 'Overseas trained teachers' started by jack_william, May 3, 2016.

1. jack_william

jack_william New commenter

Hello,

I'm currently studying a Graduate Diploma of Education (Primary) in Western Australia and coming up to the end of semester 1. I'm British and in Australia on a Student Visa, my course finishes in November and it's my intention (and has always been) to return to the UK after completing my teacher training.

Before I came out to Australia, I checked UK government website guidance which said Australian teaching qualifications are transferable to the UK, it states:

https://www.gov.uk/guidance/qualified-teacher-status-qts

Teachers qualified in Australia, Canada, New Zealand and the USA
    Teachers must apply to NCTL for the award of QTS before they can be recognised as qualified teachers.
    We will then verify that the individual is a fully qualified teacher in Australia, Canada, New Zealand or the USA and has not been barred from teaching. Subject to satisfactory completion of these checks, the teacher will be issued with a letter confirming the award of QTS. Details of fully qualified teachers from Australia, Canada, New Zealand and the USA will be held by us on the database of qualified teachers in England.

Which wasn't a problem for me until recently when I checked the wording of the application form which you would use if you were having your Aussie qualification recognised by NCTL:

https://teacherservices.education.gov.uk/MutualRecognition/OTTPage1
    • Evidence that you are recognised as a fully qualified teacher – this can be either: