1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Funny things kids say...

Discussion in 'Primary' started by anon261, Mar 4, 2011.

1. I'm a primary teacher but currently just doing a bit of tutoring while my children are little. I told my 4 year old that I was going tutoring and he said ' is that where you teach the children?'. I said 'yes!', knowing that we'd had this conversation a couple of times before. Then he came out with 'Hey, mummy! Maybe one day you can be a REAL teacher. Practice makes perfect - that's what you tell me!'
    Bless him - he has a point, but I did laugh so!

2. One kid I tutor on a weekend still doesn't quite believe that when I was a kid there were only three (and then four) TV channels. Cheeky so-and-so asked me if they were in black and white as well!
    The look of horror on his face at the idea, and the fact the TV went OFF on a night time was absolutely priceless - me and his mum had a field day with that one!

3. My friend was teaching her Year 1 class about the life cycle of a butterfly, when shown a photo and asked what it was one little girl replied 'a clitoris'
    In my lovely class - one said she loved Mico-orgasms...they are really fun!

4. minnieminx

minnieminx New commenter

Love that 'real' teacher comment.

I was telling a child on the carpet today (with a super creased shirt) that when I was little people used irons to straighten their hair as there were no hair straighteners. Another girl looked at me in horror and said "Miss how old ARE you?"

This is year 6 and so we then had a bit of a chat about how long ago is 'the olden days'! 1990s apparently!