1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Full time teaching to part time nursery entrants

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by JosephFrancis, Sep 1, 2015.

1. JosephFrancis

JosephFrancis New commenter

Hi, this is my first year teaching nursery, so do please give me your advice!

Basically, there are 28 children at my nursery, but spread out, unevenly, across the week. In my last school the nursery children were either AM or PM, everyday, so the staff could teach one thing per day, morning and afternoon, and all the children would get a chance to learn, or do, everything.

I'm not sure how to do that with this one, where there are different children in every morning and afternoon. I'd quite like to only plan single lessons to be repeated through the day, but perhaps that isn't possible.

How can I make sure they all experience everything without creating an impossible amount of work for myself?

2. Camokidmommy

Camokidmommy Established commenter

I presume you have additional staff so you could look at objective led learning (abcdoes.com). This way each adult could cover different areas and you could ensure that your carpet sessions were perhaps rotated so different areas of learning weren't always on the same day. Carpet sessions would be kept to a minimum. Through your CP you could support any gaps. You would then create observations for the children on an ongoing basis.

Hope this is of some help.

3. Nikkibell811

Nikkibell811 New commenter