1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Full time teacher, Maternity cover, pay issue for summer holiday

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by skychu28, Mar 12, 2016.

1. skychu28

skychu28 New commenter

Hi everyone, I am currently a NQT full time teacher in an independent school for maternity cover. I have been working in this school since the day when the autumn/winter term started in 2015. The school no longer needs my service for next year therefore issued a confirmation letter saying my contract ends on the day when this academic year ends (which is officially Saturday the 25th June 2016). Therefore I will not get paid over the summer holiday.

Officially when the contract ends I would have been teaching in school for the whole academic year and I really do think I deserve the pay over the summer holiday. Hence I wonder is there any way I can negotiate with the school for paying me until the end of August?

Thank you for all.

2. CWadd

CWadd Star commenter

I'm sorry you're in this position, but its not uncommon. Schools frequently cannot afford to pay two salaries over the Summer, even Independents. You could try negotiating, but be prepared to be told no.

I would advise you to look for another job - one that will let you start on 1st July. And that way you get paid for the Summer.

3. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

That, I'm afraid, is the very sorry situation that many people are in at the end of a maternity cover role.

They probably have to start paying the new mother from the beginning of the holidays, prior to her starting teaching again in September, so they will not want - or perhaps will not be able - to pay double wages.