1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Full-Time Teacher looking to supply to part-time study

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by newbieteacher3, Jan 11, 2012.

1. Hi there,
    I've done a bit of browsing on these forums before, but must admit I'm quite new to the Supply Teaching board and have been a bit discouraged by a lot of what I'm seeing.
    I live quite central in SE London and I currently am teaching in a primary school which I'm really not happy with. That, combined with the fact that I would like to do a part-time course next year, made me think maybe I could do some supply work and therefore gain SOME of my free time back. That free time being used to carry out my course obligations.
    Though from what I've seen, the demand for primary supply teaching doesn't seem to be there anymore. I was hoping that being in Southwark with good links to Greenwich, Lewisham, Lambeth and Westminster there would be quite a bit of demand for supply teachers.
    I guess what I am hoping to ask is two-fold.
    1. In these kinds of areas, would there be adequate enough demand for me to work at a primary level 3-4 days a week, most weeks?
    2. Is this a viable option if I also want to study part-time?
    Sorry if these are silly questions, but I'm really curious as I see no other way of being able to study and still fund it (as I certainly haven't got the time as a full-time teacher!)
    Thanks in advance!

2. Hi there,
    I've done a bit of browsing on these forums before, but must admit I'm quite new to the Supply Teaching board and have been a bit discouraged by a lot of what I'm seeing.