1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Fronted adverbials and subordinated clause

Discussion in 'English' started by DENISE4444, Oct 6, 2019.

1. DENISE4444

DENISE4444 New commenter

Just moved from year 2 to year 5. I have 26 years experience so why am I finding the move so hard. Okay not taught KS2 in over 20 years, terminology in English is just so complicated, I have 'A' level English and I'm struggling with what I am teaching in yr5. Maths I have no problem with but the above terms just give me a headache. HELP!!!!!

2. bonxie

bonxie Senior commenter

3. hadiams

hadiams New commenter

I understand! I just moved from primary to secondary English Language and Literature!! ****** does have a lot of resources and powerpoints which are useful. Don't think too much about the terminology; think of what the adverbial clause does.

4. OneLooseCrank

OneLooseCrank Occasional commenter

Sentences are made of clauses,
    Clauses are made of clause sites,
    clause sites are made of phrases,
    phrases are made of words,
    words are made of morphemes,
    morphemes are made of phonemes.

A sentence like 'I teach' is made up of one main clause - I teach. The clause has two clause sites, the subject and the predicate. The subject I is the agent which engages in whatever verb is in the predicate, in this case teach. The subject and predicate clause sites are made up of single-word phrases, which for the most part we don't call a phrase; a noun phrase in the subject site, and a verb phrase in the predicate.