1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

From PGCE to TA! Advice please!

Discussion in 'Teaching assistants' started by hotchoc23, Sep 25, 2008.

1. Hi everyone

I wondered if you could give me some advice!

I recently completed a Primary PGCE. I graduated and was fortunate enough to land a job in a Primary school teaching year 3/4. Initially I was I was so pleased but quickly felt very overwhelmed, anxious, down and I was losing sleep and confidence quickly. I decided to tell the head and although they would have liked me to stay I (and the head) decided that the best thing would be to cancel my contract. I have no regrets as I have to think about my health and what makes me happy.

After hours of thoughts and talking with family I have decided that the role for me would be TA with extra responsibilities or HLTA. After registering with agencies I am hoping to start supply TA work next week. I am applying for various HLTA roles and 2 headteachers have told me that the PGCE is a teaching qualification therefore this translates to HLTA qualifications.

Anyway... I was just wondered if anyone else has gone down a sililar route to me? Is it very difficult to get HLTA roles? Do you think I will be frowned upon because I 'gave up' teaching? I don't want to give up education and working with children as I abslutely love it, I just think I will be happier and better in a different role where I can work with individuals/groups. I am a big believer that happy teachers/TAs = happy children.

I hope someone has some words of wisdom! It has been a challenging 3 weeks and I havn't really spoken to anyone who has followed in these footsteps!

Many thanks!