1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

friends that make you feel inadequate

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by claire_owen, Jan 19, 2011.

1. Hi. I go between thinking I am a rubbish teacher as I never quite managed to get that permanent job and so decided just to do supply to thinking I am a good teacher. This is a battle I have in my head every so often. I suffer from lack of confidence so seem to mess up at times when I need to show what I can do. Anyway recently I have been feeling good about myself I was offered long term supply been asked back to nice schools good feedback from ta s etc. Until talking to friend last night who was supplying and now has a job told me she is being put forward as a lead teacher in early years. I know you shouldn't compare and there will always be people better then others but all my teaching friends seem to be naturals at teaching and its taken me a while to get the hang of it. So once again I feel like rubbish surrounded by these friends who are fab. It would be nice to have someone just ok to good like me.

2. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter

Believe me many of us on supply suffer these doubts from time to time, so don't worry if you occasionally have such thoughts-usually after a particularly bad day on supply or when one hasn't had any work for a while.
    The other point is most 'good' teachers learn their craft by teaching, very few teachers are naturals in the first couple of years. Good teaching involves building up a relationship with the pupils & supply doesn't give one much opportunity to do this. Your friend with a job has had the opportunity, but you could do as well if not better given the same opportunity.