1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

French Science Teacher moving to Scotland : lots of questions!

Discussion in 'Scotland - curriculum' started by Emma_Biology, Jun 26, 2015.

1. Emma_Biology

Emma_Biology New commenter

Hello,

I am a qualified Science Teacher in France, currently working in a secondary school near Nice.

I am going to move to Scotland with my husband and son in a few years so I have A LOT of questions about teaching in Scotland and the Curriculum for Excellence!

1) Is the schoolyear divided into trimesters or semesters or..?

2) Do pupils have the same timetable during all the schoolyear?

3) How many periods of 50min do the pupils have per week? How many periods of Science / Biology per week?

4) What time do they usually start and finish school?

5) Do schools have extra-curricular activities everyday after school and do parents have to pay for these?

6) How many pupils (average number) are there in Scottish classrooms ?

7) In S1, S2 and S3 : all the pupils follow the same subjects (8?)

8) Do they start choosing subjects from S4 to S6 ?

9) How many subjects do they have to choose and are they studying the same subjects all year round ?

10) Considering pupils of the same age (for example in S5) : if pupil A chose Biology since S4 he's going for a Higher level in S5 and if pupil B chose Biology from S5 he's going for National 5 Level (am I correct?) : so are pupil A and pupil B going to be in different classes ? Or can they be in the same class and the teacher will have to teach different levels during the same lesson ?