1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Freelance vs Key??

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by Anonymous, Oct 20, 2011.

1. Anonymous

Anonymous New commenter

Ask them what AWR has to do with PAYE. Absolutely nothing at all. They are just trying to get their cut and not to take on any of their responsibilities.
    I'm really not sure about self employment and supply teaching - self employment has some quite strict defintions, especially about who decides what work you do and who is responsible for it. I am a self employed tutor and I also do workshops in primary schools - so no one tells me what to do!!!
    I also understand about childcare and hours - that's really annoying and upsetting for you. But a job is a job at the moment.

2. emmadrg

emmadrg New commenter

I don't like the sound of umbrella companies at all and I've asked one of the agencies I'm signed up with if I can go back on PAYE. They said they don't do that any more, so I said that I wouldn't work for them.
    It all sounds like a smoke and mirrors disguise for self-employment and wriggling out of the AWR stuff.

3. It may be worth asking the school if they could retimetable you so that you had 2.5 days. If yu are covering P.E. I would have thought that could be an option.