1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Free Readers

Discussion in 'Primary' started by Jayman, Jan 2, 2017.

1. Jayman

Jayman New commenter

Hi I am a Year 2 teacher and I am just wondering when other schools tend to give a child this prized 'free reader' status? I have a large number that come up from year 1 as free readers and I am dubious about this being possible.

I feel we rattle through reading bands extraordinarily quickly and then say they are free readers when they get to the end of ks1 reading bands.

I think there are a couple of reasons for this; pressure from parents to see chn progress and focus on word reading rather than comprehension.

I have been looking at bug club by pearson - they suggest chn should be still on colour bands towards end of Year 2.
    I realise every child and each cohort is different but I am just curious when other schools see chn becoming free readers.

Jay

2. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter

Some Schools i know operate a dual system. That is they still work through a Reading Scheme at their appropriate level and then also have a 'Free Reading Book'. So for 'silent reading / reading after they've done all their work etc they can elect to read from their 'Free Reader'. Needs checking evry so often to ensure they aren't over-stretching themselves, but rarely will a child do that.

3. Isobeleh

Isobeleh New commenter