1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

France???

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by hjlewis350, Nov 27, 2011.

1. Hi i woukd like to go to France to teach, i am a qualified primary school teacher and would love the opportunity to live and work in france. Has anyone got any experience of this? Where can i look for jobs. I do not speak french yet so would need to be an "english teacher" any advice would be great
    Thanks

2. As you will find on a few other forum posts, teaching in France is more difficult than some other countries. This is due to a number of factors, mostly the fact that there are not many International Schools in France and that the competition for those is very stiff. In addition its very difficult to get jobs in French state schools as you need to have the CAPES qualification and generally be French! I teach History at a small International School in the South of France and I have to say I was pretty lucky to get that, its very much being in the right place at the right time, but checking vacancies on the TES is a start. That said, I love it here and its a fantastic lifestyle and location, perhaps the reason why vacancies are thin on the ground! Other option is to do TEFL or something like that, its pretty poorly paid, but hey, its a start. Let me know if you want any other advice.

3. Angelil

Angelil Occasional commenter

Simon is correct.
    I have lived in France since 2008 and worked in two international schools during that period.