1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

foundation degree route- will this act against me in employment?

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by louise1202, Jan 21, 2011.

1. louise1202

louise1202 New commenter

I am currently studying on a Foundation Degree in Education and will complete a third year 'top up' to gain a BA in Primary Education with QTS. So, at the end of the third year I will be 'free' to find myself a placement as an NQT. However, I was concerned that my route into teaching is not traditional and maybe this will act against me. I have spent many years in the primary classroom as a volunteer (never employed as a teaching assistant as that wasn't 'for me'.) and it felt right that I could remain in the practical classroom getting the experience whilst fitting my Uni course around it, hence selecting the Foundation Degree with top up to BA rather than going down the straightforward BA route. But, in essence, the qualification would be the same at the end of it all as far as I can see...thanks for any advice. Would love feedback from others who have gone down this route too!

2. louise1202

louise1202 New commenter