1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Fork in the road moment. Advice needed!

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by jake290788, Jan 24, 2016.

1. jake290788

jake290788 New commenter

Hi,

I am a 27 year old trainee teacher, working in an academy school in London as a History and SEN teacher. I started training in September 2015 and I am really enjoying it. I was a graduate teaching assistant for a year before starting. The job can be extremely challenging, especially as a large proportion of the students I teach come from very unstable backgrounds. Nevertheless, I'm hooked on teaching and can't see myself doing any other job for the foreseeable future.

My problem is I feel I've reached that 'Fork in the road' moment. The issue is not whether or not I want to teach, but where. I feel like my head is telling me to see it out here in London, even if it means another 2 and a half years to become fully qualified (I'm doing a slightly different training route). However, my heart is leaning more towards the adventure of teaching abroad and trying to make a success of that.

No matter what, I am going to work in my current job until the end of July. That way I have a full year of teaching experience and confidence under my belt. I would really appreciate any advice as to what options I might have available from then with regard to teaching abroad. Is the TEFL route the only realistic option? This is not me wanting to travel and do a bit of teaching to fund it. I've had the backpacker experiences. This is me wanting to find out if I can seriously consider teaching abroad as a potential career.

Sorry for the long post and thanks in advance for any help or advice.

Jake

tillybeany likes this.