1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Foreign Language Films

Discussion in 'Personal' started by Over_the_hill, Dec 15, 2019.

1. Over_the_hill

Over_the_hill Star commenter

Morning,
    Youngest is struggling a little with French A Level (pronunciation, confidence, fluency etc). I’ve been searching online to see if there is anywhere in London or the South East that shows films in French, but can’t find anywhere. Have foreign language films died a death? When I did my French A Level and degree I used to go to the cinema regularly to see foreign language films. Does anyone know anywhere that shows them? Also, are there any on Netflix? I don’t have an account, and annoyingly you can’t preview the films before signing up. Any advice would be appreciated! OTH x

2. NoseyMatronType

NoseyMatronType Star commenter

Try the French Institute in Kensington.

https://www.institut-francais.org.uk/cine-lumiere/

They do lots of other things as well e.g. Philosophy speakeasy debates, conducted in French and English on alternate weeks.

1 person likes this.
  3. primarycat

primarycat Star commenter

1 person likes this.
  4. primarycat

primarycat Star commenter

You beat me to it!

5. colacao17

colacao17 Senior commenter

Loads on netflix. And usually you can watch with subtitles in French as well - listening and reading at the same time is a great way to learn. There are French TV series as well. Well worth the monthly fee.

Sally006, racroesus, nizebaby and 6 others like this.
  6. magic surf bus

magic surf bus Star commenter

Les Choristes

Amelie

The Diving Bell and the Butterfly