1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Forced to resign during NQT year

Discussion in 'NQTs and new teachers' started by Bexxxicle, Jun 28, 2018.

1. Bexxxicle

Bexxxicle New commenter

Hi all.

I’ve never posted on a forum before so please forgive me for my ignorance.

I was a very lucky trainee to get a post in a high school known for its reputation in my subject. They even allowed me to finish my training there instead of returning to placement A. I was employed on 0.5FTE so knew I had to complete 2 years NQT induction. The first year was amazing, I had little to no contact with my mentor, I didn’t even realise this was an issue. I had two formal observations which I was deemed as making good progress and satisfactory progress.

In the autumn term of 2017, my partner lost his job and suddenly we were living on my part time salary. This was a stressful time and he didn’t get work until end of January 2018. The job he got was within the site team of the school I worked in. Before he was working, I had several days off due to stress and anxiety to do with finances. I sought out support from my line manager and the head of HR in the school. The line manager recommended counselling and the HR person gave me an out of date NHS mental health helpline. That was the extent of help and support I was offered.