1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

For all those getting minimal work this year, it is nothing personal. Follow a simple tip.

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by FredWelsh34, Feb 11, 2016.

1. FredWelsh34

FredWelsh34 New commenter

I work as a TA 3 and a half days a week and supply onFriday. I made my decision due to supply being much slower this year compared to previous,
    I was an assistant to a supply teacher today who was a former principal, and who spent years organising and hiring supply teachers. It was useful to find out from her that there is absolutely nothing to take personally if a school does not ask you back.
    It is simply the case, I was told that schools are massively busy places and they seldom remember the supply teachers. A good tip she added was to say thank you every day and make a point of meeting the person in charge of supply and basically illustrate how you really love the school and would like to work there.
    As stated, supply teachers are seldom observed so it is not even on the basis of being thought of as being better than another. However, it is beneficial to raise your profile a bit. This is especially important in these very competitive times for supply.
    Hope this helps.

les25paul, Lara mfl 05 and pepper5 like this.
  2. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

Great advice, @FredWelsh34 !

Best wishes

Lara mfl 05 and FredWelsh34 like this.
  3. emmalcm1

emmalcm1 Established commenter

Couldn't agree more! At schools I want to return to I have always made a point of being friendly with the person in charge of supply, telling them I liked the place and am available if they need me again etc.

FredWelsh34 likes this.
  4. FredWelsh34