1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Food Tech - Food experiments

Discussion in 'Design and technology' started by ashypops, Mar 28, 2012.

1. I am a trainee teacher completing my final placement.
    Next week I have been asked to teach an interactive and exciting food lesson to Y9, I have been given free reign with this and have chosen to do a session on some food experiments and making their own simple products..
    So far I have :
    finding the Iron in breakfast cereals using a pestle & mortar and a magnet
    and making butter using cream, a jar and some shaking.

Could anyone let me know if there are any others which are fun, interesting and informative.

Many Thanks

2. Sherbet using Citric acid and icing sugar and a bit of Bicarbonate of soda.( good as a plenary)
    ADDITIVES experiments ( I know additives can be a bit dull, but they usually enjoy it.
    Colourings- Lime juice/ lemonade or pineapple jelly- colour 4 different colours ask them to say the flavour- smell it, taste it, then reveal they are all the same and that colours influence the perception of flavour.
    Look at the ingredients on smarties to guess the colour( carotene, spinachm copper
    Emulsifiers- water in bottle with oil( immiscible); Add some egg youk- temporary emulsion
    Stabilisers= Add mustard powder= stabilises the emulsion.
    Anti oxidants- Grate Apple and potatoe and leave on plate to oxidise( potato goes really black)
    Cover some grated apple/ potatoe with lemon juice and it doesn't.
    Raising Agents
    Yeast experiments using boiling tubes in a warm water bath+ balloons and adding different substances to the yeast- e.g boiling water, cold water, salt, excess sugar and a control.