1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Food room displays / Teach Food Technology

Discussion in 'Design and technology' started by VickyHiorns, Jul 12, 2009.

1. Does anyone have any ideas on how I can make a great classroom display in my food room? I'm new to teaching food (taught science up till I left to have my children in 2002) and am returning to work on a part-time basis one year contract. I am keen to have this extended as it fits in very well with my children so want to wow my new department with a great display! I have tried printing from google images but the quality isn't good enough. Any ideas?

Also, does anyone have any experience of the Teach Food Technology initiative? For QTS teachers to convert to Food. Seeing as I have a post lined up for September should I bypass this and ask for Licence to Cook training instead?
    TIA,
    Vicky

2. janharper

janharper Occasional commenter

Food room displays.
    Go to the British Nutrition Foundation website. There are lots of Powerpoints, posters, and photographs illustrating action skills that all make great wall displays. www.nutrition.org.uk
    Look in Education then Teachers Centre.
    Their sister site www.foodafactoflife.org.uk is also excellent.
    If you post your e-mail I can send you photos of displays I've done in the past using those resources plus others.

3. Hi Vicky,

I was just about to write a post asking exactly the same thing!! I DEFINATLY need some inspiring ideas about what I could do with my new classroom as I'm moving schools and am inheriting a classroom that needs a bit of TLC.