1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Flour

Discussion in 'Cookery' started by wigy, Apr 9, 2012.

1. wigy

wigy New commenter

I have taken to trying a bit of baking after many years of shop cakes. Historicaly we have used the cheapest flour in the shop. Are there any advantages in more expensive flours?

2. I am really not an expert unlike many others on here but I always use "00" flour which is a bit more expensive for making pasta and extra thin and crisp pizza bases. I try my hand at quite a bit of baking too and more and more cake recipes seemed to require plain flour and baking powder rather than self raising. Not having huge amounts of knowledge in the area I usually just follow the recipes to the letter. So I have tried using the "00" plain flour in some cakes as it is supposed to be extra fine and good for baking. I have to say that all of the cakes seem much lighter when using the plain flour plus baking powder and I don't really think that the "00" flour makes much difference. I do think that using proper unsalted butter makes a huge difference however and I always use it when baking. I have bought so many baking recipe books but my favourites are two Hummingbird Bakery ones which are just fabulous and everything I have tried has turned out to look just like the pictures and taste great. I can promise you that this is certainly not because I am the best chef in the world at all so it must be down to the recipes - although some of the instructions can seem a little too unnecessarily detailed!!! Have fun and happy baking. I'm sure that you will get some great advice on here as everyone seems to know lots and lots and I have got so many great ideas from them.
    ??????????????????????