1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

First time teaching FE!

Discussion in 'Further Education' started by lillipad, Sep 15, 2017.

1. lillipad

lillipad New commenter

I've recently agreed to lead a couple of days teaching trainees about various things. The thing is, I'm a primary teacher by trade! So any top tips please? What do I do if they talk over me / heckle me?!

2. chwinc

chwinc New commenter

I teach fe I'm a qualified engineer 20 years in heavy industry with a pgce (which is mandatory for lecturesr )dealing with apprentices and fellow workers(the real world).
    You need to stamp your authority from day 1,no pussyfooting let them know you are in charge of the room.no smiling ( till christmas) .My attack mode first day is to tell them my background that I have been there ,bought the t shirt and video.This gains their respect.so dont tell them you have been teaching primary,this will open the doors to heckling.You might also be worrying about nothing.

pepper5 likes this.
  3. kluedo

kluedo New commenter