1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

First time teaching abroad

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by Medusa10, Aug 15, 2019.

1. Medusa10

Medusa10 New commenter

I posted previously and still want to teach abroad before I retire. Which countries do people think are the best to start in?
    I am an experienced English teacher / senior leader. I've been out of teaching ( in school ) for 5 years but have been lecturing. I have Fellowship of the Higher Education Academy and an MA. I am a mature lady and have been made aware my age may be a disadvantage but I really want to give this a go.

2. PuRe

PuRe Occasional commenter

Hi, how mature are you might limit your chances in some countries due to visa requirements. Where in the world you wanna go would be easier if you answered that part yourself. The world is huge at times and what you would accept others might not & vice versa. Come back with a list of countries you’re interested in and then you might get a more tailored response.

3. rouxx

rouxx Lead commenter

I seem to remember you said you were 54 in your previous post. As I said before I was 54 last time I was looking for a post and it wasn't too hard.

Decide what you want...beaches, culture, mountains, weather, money...then look into the possibilities. There's a lot of options.

Can highly recommend taking the plunge. Being overseas has kept me in teaching. I can't envisage still teaching were I to be in the UK.

4. cjdavis83

cjdavis83 New commenter