1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

First Lesson ideas

Discussion in 'Secondary' started by Vicki197, Aug 31, 2016.

1. Vicki197

Vicki197 New commenter

So I've just completed my NQT and I'm heading into my full RQT timetable and I honestly don't quite know how to approach my first lessons this year. Last year we had to go over the department expectations (which I will do again) along with my expectations but I'm not sure where to go from there. On advice from my mentors and tutors in ITT I decided to set class rules as a group and to be honest it blew up in my face so I really don't fancy trying that route again...but I just don't know what to do! I'm a Maths teacher but I don't really want to go in with traditional teaching in the first lesson if I can help it. I think we're being given some problem solving activities to do with our year 7s as they won't be setted but I'm struggling to know how to approach my new year 8 (both top sets) and 9 (bottom set) classes. Any help/advice/suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

questionsandanswers likes this.
  2. Flere-Imsaho

Flere-Imsaho Star commenter

Why not?
    There's no point in setting up expectations for children if the rest of the lesson isn't going to be representative of other lessons throughout the year. You're just undermining yourself.

3. digoryvenn

digoryvenn Lead commenter

I remember Theo saying that you should introduce yourself and then start teaching!
    Why not?

minnie me and wanet like this.
  4. Piranha

Piranha Star commenter