1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

First job as TA, reception class, advice please??

Discussion in 'Teaching assistants' started by katyhegney, Sep 14, 2018.

1. katyhegney

katyhegney New commenter

Hi everyone, I am very excited to be starting a TA position in the school I've been volunteering in for 2 years. Just sorting through references, paperwork etc, but expecting to be starting within next couple of weeks in reception, mornings only.
    I would be so grateful if any of you have any advice for me on how to be my most effective in supporting the teacher and the children?
    Its been a long time since I've been with a reception class, and obviously my first experience being a TA.
    Any advice however small will be greatly appreciated :)

P.S I wouldn't have got the position without the help of this forum, so thank you so much!

2. sunshineneeded

sunshineneeded Lead commenter

Hi katyhegney, congratulations on your new job!
    You're in a stronger position than most on their first day as you have been around the school for 2 years and will be familiar with lots of day-to-day working. However, being an employee will be very different. First of all - don't worry! Everyone was new at one time. At first, you will be working under the direction of the class teacher at all times - take your cues from them. If possible, try to arrive at school at least ten minutes before your start time so that you have a chance to check out the day - but don't be offended if the teacher doesn't have a moment to talk to you!