1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

First job abroad

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by squeakyhaggis, Apr 23, 2011.

1. squeakyhaggis

squeakyhaggis New commenter

Thanks for the advice Hippo.
    I've just started trying to learn a bit of Mandarin. Unfortunately I don't know anyone I can practice with, but I think it will help if I can at least understand a few words or phrases. So far it's reminding me why I studied so much science at school!
    I'd best get on with the rest of the list........[​IMG]

2. cityfree

cityfree New commenter

Hello squeaky!

Congratulations. There are a few of us heading to Beijing and some who are already there. If you PM me your school/area I may be able to give you some tips. I have also been given the email addresses of other people I am half wondering if you are going to my school. Based close to the airport.

Check out the shipping allowances etc in your package. If you are able to claim back for excess baggage check which airlines give you the best deal. Aeroflot for example have just changed their policy to piece allowance, which makes it cheaper than per kilo. I know I will be taking an extra couple of bags instead of shipping a load of stuff. This also depends on if it is just you or if you have a family in tow.

Start sorting through all of your stuff. It has taken me since January (although not every weekend etc) to get down to things I am taking with me and things I need before I go. So far I have put 6 boxes into my sisters attic and sent countless big IKEA bags to the charity shop full of stuff. It is amazing what you don't use. I can't even remember what I have got rid of.