1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

First interview and terrified!

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by anon2047, May 21, 2011.

1. Hi,
    I have my first interview on Tuseday and am absolutely terrified. I have been applying for jobs since Christmas, and now I have actually been shortlisted, I am worried my nerves will get the better of me.
    I have to teach a 60 minute lesson to a mixed KS3 class, I don't know any more than that, and have interviews, student panels and discussions.
    There are four of us, and I have no idea what to expect or what I should include in my lesson (I can teach anything). I am a PGCE ICT student.
    Any advice would be very much appreciated.
    Thanks
    J

2. Interesting! Teach something simple like creating a business card in Publisher (Normally done for OCR nationals AO4 Unit 1). I usually get 2 of them up at the start of the lesson and say they are sales people and clients, sell them this phone and then when they have finished ask them how will they know how to contact each other again? what can we use? Someone will usually say Business Card... yes! brainstorm on the whiteboard what you have on a business card, show an example on the IWB and go in published and show them the basics. As it is an hour's lesson you might do the front and back of the business card! at the end you could do a peer review activity, Star Star Wish (give them a success criteria at the start).

Hope this helps?

3. Georgia99

Georgia99 New commenter

I have been to two interviews so far, both unsuccessful so I'm probably not the best person to give you any tips...