1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

First few German lessons to 15/16 y.o. complete beginners?

Discussion in 'Modern foreign languages' started by VaniliaGirl, Aug 16, 2011.

1. Hi everyone,
    I was wondering whether someone could advise me on that. I am used to teaching younger beginners and am a bit nervous about those first few lessons.
    Any ideas/suggestions for how to deal with that kind of public is welcome!
    Many thanks in advance!

2. Hi everyone,
    I was wondering whether someone could advise me on that. I am used to teaching younger beginners and am a bit nervous about those first few lessons.
    Any ideas/suggestions for how to deal with that kind of public is welcome!
    Many thanks in advance!

3. Lara mfl 05

Lara mfl 05 Star commenter

Actually (and I'm probably going to get shot down in flames here!) I wouldn't be aimimg to dotoo much in the target language.
    I'd try to get some discussion going as to how German will be useful to them, where they can use it in the future etc.
    Then I'd look at some obvious 'cognates' and get them to guess what they mean to 'hook' them in.