1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

First day

Discussion in 'Primary' started by helen0301, Aug 19, 2017.

1. helen0301

helen0301 New commenter

hi guys :)
    I'm starting my new job as a level two teaching assistant in a few weeks time.

I was wondering what you would recommend taking with me on my first day (I am completely new to the job role).

I was also wondering what to expect.
    The first two days are inset days so i suspect they will be training us on how to use the equipment. Wednesday, Thursday Friday the children are back in. These days we've have been told they are about getting to know the class and not particularly about "lessons".

Any help would be great fully received.
    Thankyou.

2. efm

efm New commenter

Hi there, you don't say the age you will be working with but it is definitely about getting to know the children. However it is also letting the children get to know you in your role. Obviously you will be helping them settle into new routines which can be a positive shared experience for you both. I would perhaps simply have a notebook handy to jot down any useful observations and maybe questions. Hearing children read and talking about their reading is a great way to make initial links too but if you are allowed/ have time it is also useful to do some focused observation. Good luck and enjoy.

helen0301 and Teachallover like this.
  3. alexanderosman

alexanderosman Occasional commenter