1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

First client help needed please!

Discussion in 'Private tutors' started by helenemdee, Aug 22, 2011.

1. helenemdee

helenemdee New commenter

I'm going to talk to a lady about tutoring her two sons on Wednesday (kind of an informal consultation). They are my first clients and I am excited to get started, but since it's my first time, I'm nervous about getting it wrong. I'm going to give them some information about me, and fill in my student information sheets which will tell me where each boy most needs help, talk through my terms (and give them a copy), and hopefully arrange some further sessions! I'm also (hopefully) going to go through some curricular targets appropriate to theie age and find out what they can do and where they could improve (areas to target). Does this sound like good content for the first session?
    Where can I find curricular targets? (or targets along the lines of what they should be able to do by the end of each year group?) Or should I just use the national curriculum programmes of study and assess the extent to which they have reached each target? (One has just finished year 1 and one has just finished year 3).
    And also (this is the biggest question) how do I tutor someone with a lack of motivation/"laziness"? One of the boys is behind at school due to a lack of concentration and I know how to deal with this - tutor in the areas where he most needs to "catch up", providing short bursts of tasks that match his needs and interests. The other, however, has no particular academic weakness but his teachers think he could do better. What can I do to help this student? Any advice (before Wednesday) greatly appreciated!
    Helen x