1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

First class degree/ 2:1 and getting a job

Discussion in 'Primary' started by thedancingqueen, May 27, 2011.

1. Can I ask please, when it comes to looking for a job, would you say it makes much of a difference whether you have a 2:1 or a first class degree? Does having a first class degree give you much of an advantage over other applicants? Are you more likely (on average) to get an interview than someone with a 2:1? I know there's more to it than that when it comes to choosing people to be interviewed. The reason why I'm asking is because I'm a final year trainee teacher. I got a lot of high marks last year (in the 70s) but this year I've only got marks in the 60's. I haven't been able to give the course my absolute all this year because of my health condition. My health really has been bad and even though the university have been understanding, it's going to make my average fall. I have university finals next week. I've been trying so hard to revise but my health is still poor so it's a battle, but I'm not someone who gives up and will keep at it. I think ultimately I'll be getting a 2:1 thanks to a few assignment marks in the 60's this year. I do feel a bit gutted because I've been working flat out and harder than most on my course for the last three years. It feels like I'm falling at the last hurdle. Am I any less likely to get a job with a 2:1 than a first? I know having a first doesn't mean that you're a good teacher. I just really wanted a first more than anything and feel a bit down. Back to revision for me.