1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

First Assembly and I'm terrified - please help!!!!!

Discussion in 'Primary' started by jameswalker12, Feb 27, 2011.

1. Dear teachers,
    I am a new teacher and I have my first assembly in two weeks . I'm rather petrified! It will be in front of Early Years and KS1, however, having not done an assembly before, I am very nervous! What sorts of things can I do in my assembly? What behaviour, engagement techniques to get the children's interest can I use?
    Do I start with a song and then lead into a story? I would like to having something with a good moral behind the story but I haven't got a clue where to get resources or anything. I would really appreciate some help and advice on this or even an example of a good structured assembly would be nice. It needs to be 30 minutes.
    Please help!!!!!
    James

2. Dear teachers,
    I am a new teacher and I have my first assembly in two weeks . I'm rather petrified! It will be in front of Early Years and KS1, however, having not done an assembly before, I am very nervous! What sorts of things can I do in my assembly? What behaviour, engagement techniques to get the children's interest can I use?
    Do I start with a song and then lead into a story? I would like to having something with a good moral behind the story but I haven't got a clue where to get resources or anything. I would really appreciate some help and advice on this or even an example of a good structured assembly would be nice. It needs to be 30 minutes.
    Please help!!!!!
    James

3. forestje

forestje New commenter

How about looking at the Seal resources for Good to be me.