1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Finding a job in rural school?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by rachelmariascott, Jan 4, 2018.

1. rachelmariascott

rachelmariascott New commenter

Hi
    I am new to teaching and need some help. I read about primary teacher shortages in rural locations in the media. I would like to live fairly remotely, and I am able to move anywhere in the country. Is there anywhere specific that advertises rural teaching jobs? I know TES lists jobs but my PGCE instructors told me that many schools don't advertise here due to costs.
    Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

2. Landofla

Landofla Established commenter

Check on the city council websites.

3. saluki

saluki Lead commenter

Be aware that living in a rural area is more expensive. You will need transport because there is no public transport. There will be a lot of competition for jobs in good schools. There are also areas of deprivation and social problems in rural areas and there are some poor schools. I have taught in market towns and been surprised about the 'hidden' side of posh, middle-class areas.

4. bonxie

bonxie Lead commenter

For some schools in rural areas, there will be little competition for jobs because many teachers don't want to live somewhere remote. This doesn't mean the schools are not great to work in though and if you're happy to live somewhere remote then these schools might be just right for you.

For jobs in Scotland, use https://www.myjobscotland.gov.uk/search?cat=2085&sub_cat=2528
    It's usual to get job specifications from the website (rather than through specific councils) and use the website to apply too.