1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Finally an interview...usual story though

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by Oldfashioned, Jun 13, 2016.

1. Oldfashioned

Oldfashioned Occasional commenter

I'm an experienced teacher but I only want a teaching job so I have struggled to even get interviews. Anyway, I finally got an interview, prepped a lesson, put on a suit and lost a day's pay (long term supply). I walked into the school to be met by fellow candidates, another older teacher like me, an NQT and an NQT who had been working at the school on supply. Said NQT was very laid back, casual and relaxed.

I did a great lesson and a great interview. The already known NQT got the job. I got fabulous feedback, which is always worthless and lost a whole chunk of pay. :(

Hey ho

2. splinters

splinters Established commenter

From my experience, that is something you may well have to get used to. I have only seen one job this year where they stated they wanted experience and would not consider NQT's...sadly it was too far to travel.

ultimatedingbat and agathamorse like this.
  3. grumpydogwoman

grumpydogwoman Star commenter

I sympathise.

JosieWhitehead likes this.
  4. bob79

bob79 Occasional commenter

I am so sorry, I really hope you find something soon. Keep posting and have a good chat about it, you will feel better. Was the feedback helpful?

5. Oldfashioned

Feedback was all positive but it's hardly of use anyway because how one school do recruitment can be very different to others.

6. dalersmith

dalersmith New commenter