1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Final practice student teaching for SATS 09 night time writing task

Discussion in 'Primary' started by JessM, May 3, 2009.

1. Hello...I'm a final practice student desperately in need of some advice!
    I'm in a mixed class Reception/Year1/Year2 and have been asked by the class teacher to focus my literacy lessons this week on a night-time theme (the week before the Year 2 children do their SATS) so that they will have some ideas for the long writing part of the SATS tests. I'm not quite sure how much help and information i can give them and not sure on the kind of activities that i can get them to do without getting them to actually do any information writing??!!
    I've set last week's homework as finding out facts about nocturnal animals and thought we could share these at some point and maybe make posters with the information?? - is that cheating?
    I also thought we could look at a poem to do with the night time and use some of the adjectives to write our own descriptive sentences about the night - is that also cheating??!!
    I was also thinking of looking at The owl who was afraid of the dark and imagining that we meet the owl and tell him what we think of the night time?
    Am i way off the mark or on the right lines?? it's really hard as i am obviously just a student and dont have much experience so ANY ideas at all would be much appreciated!
    Thank you in anticipation!!!!
    JM x x x

2. Hi.I'm a Year 2 teacher and I'd say those ideas you've got are great.Just make sure that you don't get the children to write a report at any point during the week as you can't teach the text type the week before SATs.