1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Fees to an agency....

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by alicepurcell7, Oct 7, 2020.

1. mrsowens7

mrsowens7 New commenter

I wonder if anyone can help me understand my position. I have been doing Primary School Supply for a few years now but my circumstances have changed and I want to look for a part time role. I have read my very confusing contract and cannot tell if I have to let the agency know if I want to apply for a job at a school I have visited through them in the past? I would be applying directly for the roles on a County Council website. I havn't been asked to by the school or agency.
    Would the school have to pay a fee to the agency because they have 'met' me through the agency in the past?
    The agnecy I work through have not had my best interests in mind on several occasions in the past and I'm looking to move on and find myself a part time role.
    Thanks for any advice or experiences of this
    X

2. educ80

educ80 Occasional commenter

Hi Alice,

Regardless of what agencies may say and think, the overriding law is detailed in this link below.

https://www.gov.uk/employment-agencies-and-businesses/fees-to-hiring-companies-transfer-fees

In summary, if The 'Hirer' (the school) gives you a job within 8 weeks of the end of your last work through the agency, or within 14 weeks since your last role started there (whichever is later) then they can not levy a fee at all.

That is the law, pure and simple and this overrides any contract you sign with an agency.

I would normally advocate communicating with the agency but if they have not done right by you over time then dont bother with them, just check the dates and go for it.