1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Feeling very down

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by sjwalks, Apr 25, 2012.

1. Im a young trainee Science teacher and i am on my last placement with 8 weeks to go.
    My first placement was fantastic, i loved the school. The behaviour was bad, but i got on really well with my classes and their progression was incredibly rewarding. I loved every minute of the teaching and was always looking forward to the next day and the next lesson. I didnt mind lesson planning and marking books for hours because i genuinely knew that it was for the good of my kids and i cared about every single one of them. Not to mention, i had a fantastic mentor and couldnt ask for anything better.
    Unfortunately i dont feel the same about this one. Behaviour is better but the kids are just not as nice. They are so chatty and i feel like i have no authority at all. I have only been teaching my classes for about 3 weeks, but i havent gelled with any of them yet. I know its still early days, but in my last school, i warmed to most of them straight away and if i hadn't, i was eager to implement ways in which i could.