1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

feeling undervalued and demotivated

Discussion in 'Personal' started by elmont, Feb 25, 2012.

1. I have been a teacher in the same school for 10 years now. I like to think that I am reasonably good at my job and can just keep my head down and get on with things. We had a new headteacher take over last year and since then, the morale of pretty much the whole school has plummeted. I was called into her office last week where she just launched into "why have your literacy books not been marked for a significant amount of time?" She wanted to know if I had a problem with marking as the previous headteacher had mentioned to her that I had been pulled up on this before (about 7 years ago after I had split up with my fiance of 10 years, there was a period of time where, surprisingly, I cared very little about school!) the only way the new head would have known about my books was if she had gone into my room when I wasn't there and looked through them. I put my hands up and say that, yes, I had neglected them for a few weeks but I had spoken to the children during lessons and shown them how to improve etc and surely I am not the only teacher who does this? I don't make a habit of leaving them for weeks at a time usually, it just seemed unfortunate timing.