1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Feeling stuck as a casual teacher

Discussion in 'Australia - Staffroom' started by dclaxton34, Dec 30, 2017.

1. dclaxton34

dclaxton34 New commenter

I recently graduated with a Masters in Primary Teaching from Western Sydney University and for a few months I've been a K-6 casual primary teacher in Sydney's south-west (around 40 paid days so far, the work really dried up at the end of November). I've applied for many temporary and permanent opportunities in Sydney with no luck. I've since applied for a few temporary opportunities in the NSW countryside (I applied around the xmas period). Along with my masters, I also have a Graduate Teaching Certificate for TESOL (before my masters I taught ESL in South Korea and China for around 4 years, some of that period was in public schools however I was more of a guest teacher who didn't have grading or other tasks to do).

While I'm grateful to have received some casual work, I can't stand having to work in different schools almost everyday; along with making me anxious and sometimes being not told anything, I just feel stuck in regards to teacher development (and compiling AITSL evidence to reach proficient status with NESA). I'd consider going overseas again however I feel that ESL and possibly international school work will be a waste of time if I was ever to apply for jobs back home in the future (I'm from Sydney). I feel like my ESL experience was a complete waste of time and that my TESOL certificate (from UTS in Sydney) may also not count as a useful qualification for EALD teaching work.