1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Feeling so stuck

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by parachute89, Aug 4, 2020.

1. parachute89

parachute89 New commenter

Hi everyone. Please be kind, I'm a little emotional today.

I have been a Primary teacher for 6 years. I have been thinking about leaving the profession for the past year and a half, and after a relationship break down last year moved back home. I decided that I would leave teaching this year and have living at home to fall back on in case it took time to find a job, then pick myself up for the next step of looking to buy a house etc.

Then Covid. I decided it wasn't wise to leave my job (in a very nice school, might I add) at this time. Living at home during lockdown and everything has had quite an impact on my mental health, and I am desperate to have my own space. I want to buy a place, and can afford to as I have saved up a very healthy deposit. I have considered renting but all of my friends and family tell me not to waste my money when I can afford to buy.

My issue is - should I buy at a time where I hope to leave my teaching job next year? My hope is to buy something that wouldn't be at the top end of my borrowing range so that even if I have to (and most probably will have to) take a pay cut, I could still afford the mortgage. What would your advice be?

In regards to a new career, I'm not sure what I want. I like to think that I am quite a creative person, organised, calm, reflective. I will try and find a new career potentially honing in on these skills if I can, I'm currently scoping the market to see what's out there, and re-writing my CV.