1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Feeling scrutinised by super-bright A2 students at new school?

Discussion in 'Independent' started by rm2014, Sep 20, 2017.

1. rm2014

rm2014 New commenter

Hello everyone

I am a relatively new science teacher who has been teaching for 2 years. I have just started working at a top sixth form college, my second school, where the final year A2 students I have been given are all incredibly bright- the college is selective and only accepts high-ability students.

I like that aspect about it, but I have come from another sixth form college which had mixed ability students, only a couple of "super bright" ones in the class, and was non-selective. In my first year there I just had AS students who I then took up to A2 level in my second year, so they knew me and we had done AS together. At this new place they intended to do it this way as well since I was new, but in the end there were so many A2 students on roll that they needed to give me an A2 class as well.

Having been a teacher for just 2 years (as well as being in my twenties!), and having taught the A2 course for just 1 year so far, I am struggling with this new super-bright A2 class I have been given. They ask me lots of questions well beyond the scope of the syllabus, some of which I am unsure of, and I feel that they are scrutinising me. I find myself getting nervous when I address this class now, and that seems to be fuelling their 'inspecting of me' even more.