1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Feeling rubbish - results whinge

Discussion in 'Primary' started by milliebear, Mar 20, 2011.

1. Hi there
    Just want to vent and get some perspective please!
    I am a third year teacher and love the school I'm in and my job. I teach lower set maths (y5) and this year had the target of two sub-levels progress for two-thirds of the set.
    Last year, I had pretty poor results in maths. Most only made a sub-level according to their end of year tests. I was down about this, but it was put down to inexperience on my part and a lack of test prep. The children's performance through the year in class had been generally good, but the test didn't reflect this.
    I was determined not to have a repeat this year, so was worried to find out (from my year group partner) that the set I've inherited has a history of poor peformace due to 'bumping' of their levels a few years back. I have kept a close eye on the class since as I thought I might have some difficult explaining to do. About half of the class are extremely weak - especially their mental maths. Most performed badly on their first tests (way back in October) where several came out with lower levels than they had in Y4.
    The class have just done their formal tests, and again, most have only made a sub-level since the end of Y4. I know we still have some time until their optional SATs, but I can just see last year's scenario unfolding again and am feeling like a really rubbish teacher who is failing the kids and the school. All other areas are great - I teach upper set English and results there are good - but they are so easy to teach!