1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Feeling like giving up the job search

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by Bamberoo, Mar 18, 2020.

1. Bamberoo

Bamberoo New commenter

I'm currently a trainee, been making pretty steady progress, haven't really had that many complaints about my work. Clearly I have things that I need to work on but my curriculum and university mentors have seemed OK with how I'm doing as long as I fix a few things, which I am aware of and I'm working towards. I haven't been put on a progress report or cause for concern list. I'm under no illusions, I don't think I'm the best but my mentor has told me I have the makings of a really good teacher.

I've been applying for NQT jobs and I'm getting nowhere. The first few times I lost out to trainees who were based at the school. The most recent one I went on they just outright wouldn't give me an answer - seemed to be holding out until they interviewed another candidate. I'm starting to get really discouraged. I'm one of the last in my cohort to get a job. I'm a science trainee and I thought there was a science teacher shortage? I'm not being overly selective with where I apply, but at the same time I have over a decade's experience working in research so I don't want to sell myself too short. Should I just take the hint and get out of teaching once I get the qualification?

2. CWadd

CWadd Star commenter

There is a need for Physicists and Chemists. Not so much Biologists.