1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Feeling depressed at the end of the beginning

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by Otter2010, Dec 27, 2011.

1. Otter2010

Otter2010 New commenter

I am a student teacher and about 3/4 of the way through my first placement. I had some lessons that went well last term and some terrible ones, but have found the sheer amount of time I spend planning and preparing exhausting. I am feeling pretty isolated as there's no time for any kind of social life and I can't help feeling it's only going to get worse as my workload of classes increases. And then I have ANOTHER year of doing this as an NQT (if I am lucky enough to land a job) before I even qualify!
    So I guess I want to ask if it gets any better, as right now the thought of living like this for the rest of my career is really depressing me! I really enjoy being in class and the actual teaching side of it, but living like a hermit for the next 5 years and constantly feeling like I am not doing enough is just not feasible. I am not looking forward to the new term starting and getting back on the treadmill. Does or has anyone else felt like this?! How did you cope? Advice and experience gratefully received!

2. MizUnderstood

MizUnderstood New commenter

I always knew that this year would be tough, and although I'm often exhausted (more mentally than physically) I can safely say that in terms of having time to myself to watch rubbish TV or read a trashy magazine is pretty much the same as it's always been.